Russian Day 8: More Fun Than I Remembered

russian_-day-8

My goal this month was to do a little bit of Russian every day. That is what I want every month, of course, but my specific stated goal is to get through X chapters of a book or Y podcasts or Z Duolingo lessons. This month, my goal is to simply study for 10 minutes a day. I set a timer and start. If I feel like giving up after 10 minutes, I stop. If I want to keep going, great. If I miss a day, then I add 10 minutes to the next day. It’s such a small amount, it is easy to squeeze in on even a busy day. So far, it’s been working fantastically. I’ve done at least 10 minutes of Russian every single day. Most days, I get inspired and do much more.

I’ve also found Russian more fun than ever before. What has finally turned the tide? Is it that I’ve gotten better at learning how I learn languages? Is it that after a few years of studying Russian little by little, it’s finally starting to click and feel less overwhelming? Is it that I have better resources this time around? I honestly don’t know. But I’m glad I can finally give this language the love that it deserves.

 

Leave a comment